October 28, 2020 - February 28, 2021

Chronicle of birth, growth and death of a cloud

-
 



3042/5000


Pep Vidal is not only an artist, but also a mathematician with a doctorate in physics. His poetic artistic research is strongly influenced by his scientific curiosity and aided by his expertise. Past and current projects such as “Following the North Pole (Magnetic)” (presented at La Casa Encendida in Madrid) and “Trees, forest boundaries and global models” (as seen at PACE in Bordeaux) deal with the notion of invisible concepts that shape reality and our understanding of it. Chasing the North Pole, not the reliable and unchanged point of reference we would think, or painstakingly dividing a tree into identical sections in volume are actions that unveil the powerful potential of these forces, imperceptible in our daily lives. Its exploration takes shape through the most diverse media and materials; installations, paintings, drawings, videos and photographs, always resulting from rigorous procedures which have been able (and have withstood) the test of the strictest of laboratories.

Vidal's efforts have been recognized with prestigious awards, such as the La Caixa Production Award and the GAC AWARD for Best Exhibition by an Emerging Artist in 2019, and the Montemadrid Foundation Generation Award in 2015.

"Chronicle of the Birth, Growth and Death of a Cloud" is Pep Vidal's second solo show at LMNO.

It was sparked by an ambitious endeavor that the artist / scientist has spent the past two years planning and actualizing.


This project deals in particular with the technical and intellectual struggle to measure and trace the shape of a cloud from the moment it materializes until the moment it disappears. Not only is it quite complicated to follow a cloud and its alterations through time at considerable heights, but the very concept of a "cloud", its essence and its relationship to other objects and space had to be explored and explored. challenged to achieve the final intention.
The artist has been thinking since his childhood on the riddle "Is the cloud near and small or is it far and large?" and relativity and paradox in the act of measuring, as opposed to just looking.

Using photogrammetry, a technology that uses many telephoto lenses (in this case 9) to capture the cloud multiple times from all directions, Vidal and his team were able to trace a cloud from its birth to its disappearance, through the changes. infinitesimals he suffered. Inspired by this discovery, the works on display are drawings, paintings, sculptures and videos that attempt to answer the question "how to measure something as ephemeral, volatile and inconstant as a cloud?" moving and imaginative, with the tenderness often so apparent in Vidal’s work.

Produced within the framework of the artist support program of the “la Caixa” Foundation. This project also received support from the Embassy of Spain in Brussels.

28 Octobre 2020 - 28 Février 2021

Chronicle of birth, growth and death of a cloud

-

Pep Vidal n'est pas seulement un artiste, mais aussi un mathématicien titulaire d'un doctorat en physique. Sa recherche artistique poétique est fortement influencée par sa curiosité scientifique et aidée par son expertise. Des projets passés et en cours comme «Suivre le pôle Nord (magnétique)» (présenté à La Casa Encendida à Madrid) et «Arbres, limites forestières et modèles globaux» (comme on le voit au PACE à Bordeaux) traitent de la notion de concepts invisibles qui façonnent la réalité et notre compréhension de celle-ci. Chasser le pôle Nord, pas le point de référence fiable et inchangé que nous penserions, ou diviser minutieusement un arbre en sections identiques en volume sont des actions qui dévoilent le puissant potentiel de ces forces, imperceptibles dans notre vie quotidienne. Son exploration prend forme à travers les médias et les matériaux les plus divers; installations, peintures, dessins, vidéos et photographies, toujours issus de procédures rigoureuses qui ont pu (et ont résisté) à l'épreuve du plus strict des laboratoires.


Les efforts de Vidal ont été récompensés par des prix prestigieux, tels que celui de la production La Caixa et le GAC AWARD de la meilleure exposition d'un artiste émergent en 2019, et le Montemadrid Foundation Generation Award en 2015.

«Chronique de la naissance, de la croissance et de la mort d’un nuage» est la deuxième exposition personnelle de Pep Vidal au LMNO.

Il a été déclenché par une entreprise ambitieuse que l'artiste / scientifique a passé les deux dernières années à planifier et à actualiser.



Ce projet traite en particulier de la lutte technique et intellectuelle pour mesurer et tracer la forme d'un nuage depuis le moment où il se matérialise jusqu'à celui où il disparaît. Non seulement il est assez compliqué de suivre un nuage et ses altérations à travers le temps à des hauteurs considérables, mais le concept même de «nuage», son essence et sa relation avec d'autres objets et l'espace ont dû être explorés et remis en question pour réaliser l'intention finale.
L'artiste réfléchit depuis son enfance à l'énigme "Le nuage est-il proche et petit ou est-il loin et grand?" et la relativité et le paradoxe dans l'acte de mesurer, par opposition au simple regard.

Grâce à la photogrammétrie, une technologie qui utilise de nombreux téléobjectifs (dans ce cas 9) pour capturer le nuage plusieurs fois de toutes les directions, Vidal et son équipe ont pu tracer un nuage de sa naissance à sa disparition, en passant par les changements infinitésimaux qu'il subi. Suscitées par cette découverte, les œuvres exposées sont des dessins, des peintures, des sculptures et des vidéos qui tentent de répondre à la question «comment mesurer quelque chose d'aussi éphémère, volatil et inconstant qu'un nuage?» de manière émouvante et imaginative, avec la tendresse souvent si apparente dans l’œuvre de Vidal.

Produit dans le cadre du programme de soutien aux artistes de la Fondation «la Caixa». Ce projet a également reçu le soutien de l'Ambassade d'Espagne à Bruxelles.